Robin’s musical journey…

Tomorrow Robin leaves for Boston, Massachusetts to start his college days at the New England Conservatory of Music.  My little fiddler with his black cap and tweed coat has grown up.  Tonight I sat in his music studio (once my art studio…) and listened to him teach fiddle to a young man in his twenties who works on at an organic farm on San Juan Island.  Robin plays so fluidly and teaches with his heart and his mind.  I listen and hear all the voices of a childhood of inspired teachers spoken in his words.  He thinks like I do, though I have not the years of formal musical training, I surprise myself by how much I do know.  I listen to this young man playing what Robin instructs him to, and I hear music.  What a gift I have helped to give my son.  It brings me joy beyond imagining.  I remember Joe Bettridge saying to Robin and I after church, “It is all in your hands and in your eyes”  These are our gifts.  Below is a photo I took of ma maison des hirondelles (the swallows nest in Sauve, France) last May, with the morning sunshine streaming in.  This spring I painted the very same “Fleurs Sauvages dans le Pichet”.  We are both composers of sound and color.  In less than a month, I leave the island for several months of seul temps to paint and write and get in touch with my life and allow the seeds of serenity and creativity to take root again.

“Then swing your window open, the one with the fresh air and good eastern light and watch for wings, edges, new beginnings…”

This entry was posted in Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Robin’s musical journey…

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

